be amazed

Leioa is structured into several villages that have defined the personality of the town.

They offer a rich religious and civil heritage, ranging from windmills to palaces, as well as beautiful caseríos “farmhouses”, chapels and sculptures by the most renowned international artists.

Iglesia de San Juan Bautista, Leioa
Mendibile Jauregia, Leioa

Mendibile Jauregia


Mendibile Jauregia is a Baroque building that dates back to the end of the 17th century. It is considered to be one of the first double-arched caseríos “farmhouses” in Bizkaia.

Its high-quality construction is very interesting and reveals the involvement of expert stonemasons.

It is made up of four floors covering a total of 1,471 m2.

It currently houses the headquarters of the Regulatory Council and the Bizkaiko Txakolina Designation of Origin, as well as Mendibile Jauregia jatetxea.

This beautiful palace also hosts Txakomic, Txakolina & Musika, wine tastings, and you can even buy txakoli at bodega prices.

Come and discover it!

Ondiz Tower


The Ondiz Tower was built as a modest palace tower at the beginning of the 16th century.

Due to its location, perched on a high point overlooking a wide area, it seems to have been used for surveillance and control of the Udondo River mouth and the Nervión Sound.

It underwent a number of transformations until it was restored by Leioa Town Council between 2010 and 2013, safeguarding its original structure and creating a space dedicated to socio-cultural activities.

It is the only one of the four tower houses belonging to the minor lineages of the Butrón family that is currently standing.

Palacio de Artatza, Leioa


A palace surrounded by beauty

Manuel María Smith Ybarra designed this stunning building for the businessman Víctor Chávarri Anduiza, Marquis of Triano.

Located in the Artatza district of Leioa, it is regarded as one of Smith’s finest buildings and was inaugurated in 1918 upon the visit of King Alfonso XIII.

The palace and the magnificent park surrounding it have belonged to Leioa Town Council since 2018, and the Town Council organises dramatised tours of the palace.

Come and discover the Artatza Jauregia Palace!

Elexalde Mill


Very close to the centre of Leioa, a short walk from Kultur, you will come across the Elexalde mill.

It was built in the 18th century and remained in operation until 1969.

The mill consisted of a vertical wheel and a horizontal axis that harnessed the waters of the Elexalde stream.

It is made of masonry, rectangular in shape and has a gabled roof.

It is a lovely setting which, together with the small pond created in the stream, is well worth a visit.

Udondo Bridge


This is Spain’s oldest surviving cast-iron bridge, along with the Triana Bridge.

Its cast iron arch dating back to 1848, belonged to the old Arenal Bridge in Bilbao, which was demolished in 1876, and is now only visible from the sound.

This bridge joins the rivers Gobelas and Udondo with the Nervión Sound.

Learn more about its history in our blog.

Kortasenebarri en Leioa

Caserío Kortesenabarri "Farmhouse"


A reproduction of the traditional Basque caserío “farmhouse” created by the students of the Employment Workshop.

The original, Aketxe Kortasene, dates back to the 16th century and was one of the oldest in the town.

It is a pole caserío “farmhouse-type” building with a lintel doorway and an upper floor made of brick and side “friars”.

It currently houses the headquarters of the Aranzadi Science Society, aimed at promoting scientific research into biodiversity and archaeological, ethnographic and natural heritage.

The purpose of this assignment agreement on behalf of the Town Council to the Aranzadi Society is to promote studies, research and dissemination activities within the field of climate change and the environment during the Quaternary, turning this infrastructure in Leioa into a benchmark centre on an international level.


Iglesia de San Juan Bautista, Leioa

Church of San Juan


The representatives of the church used to meet under its portico to discuss the issues affecting its citizens.

It dates back to the 16th century and was originally built in Renaissance style with Baroque additions, although it was remodelled in the 19th and 20th centuries in a mixture of architectural styles.

The exterior features a Cruceiro, donated by the Zabala Atxutegi family, transferred from the district of Ondiz.

Iglesia de San Juan, Lamiako, Leioa

Church of San Máximo


The church of San Máximo was built in 1907 and became a parish church in 1935.

It features neo-Romanesque, neo-Gothic and neo-Classical architectural elements.

Ermita Andra Mari Ondiz

Ondizko Andra Mari


Also known as the Chapel of Nuestra Señora de los Remedios, it is located in the district of Ondiz.

This chapel is of medieval origin, although the current building dates back to the 16th century.

It was built in a Gothic style transitioning to the Renaissance.

Due to its privileged location, overlooking the sound and a large area, during the Carlist wars, a fort was attached to it on the south side, and some remains of this fort can still be seen today.

Ermita de San Bartolomé, Leioa

Chapel of San Bartolomé


Located next to Peruri, it dates back to the 16th century, although with later modifications.

It features a gabled roof and a Baroque-style belfry topped with a stone cross.

In 1956, when work was being carried out on the adjoining schools, bone remains corresponding to 28 burials from the 18th century were found.

This fact led to the hypothesis that the San Bartolomé nucleus was the main and oldest of the ante-church of Leioa.

Leioa Heritage Map

Visit Leioa and stroll through its streets and gardens...
you will be surprised
Favicon leioa Turismo
San Juan Church
Favicon leioa Turismo
San Máximo Church
Favicon leioa Turismo
Andra Mari
Favicon leioa Turismo